A disappointing season for True Blood

***Spoilers***

Image

Over the past year I have slowly become a fan of True Blood. I never wanted to watch it because the books  never appealed to me and I thought the TV series would also be a let down, however I quickly became obsessed and had to watch it every week. Luckily for me I could also watch it every day due to the series being put online.

Last Sunday we saw the finale of the fifth series and after reading fan comments on the show, it doesn’t seem like many will be watching the next series in June. For me, True Blood has always seemed to drag the storyline. As any True Blood fan knows, the series is focused on one storyline with many subplots throughout as well, which are usually quickly forgotten.

Such as Warlow in the fifth series, he was never mentioned in the last episode, however to those in the know there was an extra clip put online to show Jason mention his name which can be found here.

I have always felt that by the seventh or eighth episode, the series begins to drag and once again series five did the same thing. Also, bringing in Vampire religion to the series made it end up being tedious and trivial. Yes, it was fantastic to have the focus on the vampires and not on Sookie, as I find her highly irritating, but at the same time there wasn’t a lot of variety. Every episode didn’t seem to go anywhere. Don’t get me wrong, the season finale was great, it left many cliffhangers for the next series but at the same time, it hasn’t explained anything.

Their vampire god, Lilith, was always thought to be a figment of their drug induced imagination, but at the end of the series we see Bill rising up from his own blood after he, basically, dissolved.

Image

For me, it looks as if True Blood is just going no where. The repetition of Sookie and a vampire being after her or being in love with her is dire. The series began to improve as the focus was no longer on Sookie’s boobs but after focusing on religion and Bill, turning into a vampire god or whatever he will be, the season finale doesn’t seem as if it will bring back many fans next year.

Usually every True Blood finale has made me want more, but this one has left me and many others feeling disappointed. The only thing we can do is wait and see if the next series will be an improvement, but right now it doesn’t seem like True Blood will get the approval of their fans.

One fan says this series was good, but like me they aren’t dying to see the next series. Another claims the finale was the worst episode they have even seen.

However, still many fans loved the series, but felt it wasn’t as good as the others.

Although, when watching the season finale I was so happy to see Pam and Tara finally get together! The sexual tension between them has been insane. Also, it’s fantastic that Tara is a vampire now, so hopefully she’ll stop moaning about how much she hates everyone and everything.

Image

So all in all, season five has been good and bad, but mostly it hasn’t captured the attention or desire of the fans like the previous series have. I just hope the next series will be better.

2 thoughts on “A disappointing season for True Blood

  1. I also was disappointed with this season and felt the finale was the worst ever. I will watch next season, but with less enthusiasm. The first episode of season 6 better be good or else I won’t be so dedicated to tune in every Sunday for twelve weeks. I’ll probably watch the show later in the week on HBO On Demand.

    I hope the writers of this show are paying attention to the reviews and are brainstorming to make season 6 much better. Then again, a lot of TV shows fall apart after four or five seasons – the writers just run out of ideas.

  2. Thank you, I’ve just been looking for info about this subject for a long time and yours is the best I’ve discovered till now. However, what about the bottom line? Are you positive in regards to the source?|What i do not realize is in reality how you are not really a lot more smartly-appreciated than you may be now. You are very intelligent.

Leave a Reply

