When did creativity become endangered?

Image

This may be a rant post but, recently I’ve become so annoyed and obsessed with how shit creativity has become. I saw an image a few weeks back which showed how in the ’80s nearly every film released was original. Whereas as the years have gone by, nearly all films nowadays are adapted from a book, a game, a TV show or they’re remakes.

A few examples would be The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. It was remade and had a prequel and next year there will be a 3D version. (I’m SO excited obviously…not.) The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Let the Right One In, Harry Potter, Twilight, James Bond etc…There are many. I don’t see why foreign films should be remade just so that those of us who can’t be arsed to READ can enjoy them.

Don’t get me wrong, I love James Bond, Harry Potter and even Twilight, they’re great adaptations. This is about original films.

I would like to know why there have rarely been any original ideas, something which isn’t borrowed from someone else. Are we missing something? Because I’m sure there are still stories with monsters, killers, lovers or even cupcakes that we haven’t seen yet!

What’s happened to creativity? And how can we get it back? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

